Our Commissioners

Southwest Regional Development Commission was organized by local elected officials in 1973 as authorized by the Minnesota Legislature’s Regional Development Act of 1969. The Minnesota State Legislature passed the Act to encourage cooperation among local units of government. Local leaders recognized the opportunities and formed the SRDC for the purpose of working with and on behalf of local units of government to develop plans and implement programs to address economic, social, physical, and governmental concerns.

The Commission is governed by 37 regional leaders, including elected officials representing the nine counties, 80 cities, 163 townships, 32 school districts, the Lower Sioux Indian Community, and the following public interest groups: Cultural Diversity, Higher Education, the Southwest Mn Housing Partnership, Health and Human Services, and the Southwest Minnesota Private Industry Council.

SRDC Commission Members Baron Arena

Current Commission Membership

*Indicates Board of Director

Executive Committee

Paul Langseth, Chair
Dennis Welgraven, Vice-Chair
Richard Peterson, Treasurer
Keith Elbers, Secretary
Miron Carney, Immediate Past Chair

Cottonwood County

Donna Gravley, Commissioner*
Jenny Quade, Municipalities
Ron Kottke, Townships

Jackson County

Scott McClure, Commissioner
Mark Haberman, Municipalities
Richard Peterson, Townships*

Lincoln County

Mic VanDeVere, Commissioner
Dennis Klingbile, Municipalities*
Jeff Moen, Townships

Lyon County

Rick Anderson, Commissioner*
Pam Cooreman, Municipalities
Lori Grant, Townships
Bob Byrnes, City of Marshall*

Murray County

Dennis Welgraven, Commissioner*
Miron Carney, Municipalities*
Bill Crowley, Townships

Nobles County

Bob Paplow, Commissioner
Steve Kellen, Municipalities
Paul Langseth, Townships*
Rick Von Holdt, City of Worthington*

Pipestone County

Chris Hollingsworth, Commissioner*
Dan Delaney, Municipalities
Vacant, Townships

Redwood County

Bob Van Hee, Commissioner*
Leah Bittner, Municipalities
Tiffany Knott-Lesmeister, Townships

Rock County

Sherri Thompson, Commissioner
Keith Elbers, Municipalities*
JoEllen Benson, Townships

School Boards

Eric Hartman, School Board*
Stephen Schnieder, School Board

Lower Sioux Community

Elliot Christensen, Lower Sioux Community

Special Interest Groups

See Moua-Leske, Cultural Diversity
Carrie Bendix, SW MN PIC
David Sturrock, SW MN Higher Education
Beth Wilms, Health & Human Services
Kristie Blankenship, SW MN Housing Partnership
Justine Wettschreck, Economic Development

Translate »
Scroll to Top